/en/services/concept/index.html
The application Laboratories
Concept

The following facilities are offered:

in the femtosecond application laboratory 7 solid-state laser systems are available for the generation of femtosecond light pulses in the spectral range from 100 nm to 20 µm including setups for pulse shaping and characterization
the high field laser laboratory gives access to two high-field lasers with peak intensities around 1019 W/cm2
at the MBI-BESSY beamline facility located at the Berlin-Electron-Storage Ring for Synchrotron Radiation (a third generation synchrotron source in Berlin-Adlershof), experiments with combined laser and synchrotron radiation experiments can be performed.

In the application laboratories the MBI concentrates its specific experimental resources aiming at a most flexible, versatile and cost efficient use of expensive, state of the art equipment by internal researchers from different research projects as well as by external partners from science and industry.

Within this concept, the MBI offers its cooperation primarily to the following user groups:

Scientists from universities and research institutes, whose working field is not or not yet ultrafast spectroscopy or does not imply intensive usage of corresponding laser systems, are to be offered the possibility to make use of the laser systems available at the MBI for special investigations emerging ad hoc from their work. Thereby especially adressed are chemists, biologists, physicians and material researchers (while physicists are likely to be able to fall increasingly back upon own systems in their institutions).

For researchers and developers from industry this will also become attractive the more femtotechnology spreads in practical applications.

While the MBI application laboratories cannot be a substitute the femtosecond laser system in the lab of research groups who want to use these routinely, they may well serve for explorative studies providing the possibility for the external user to clarify whether the eventual acquisistion of an own system would be rewarding while at the same time working in the MBI facility may be seen as an opportunity to get familiar with methods and techniques of ultrafast spectroscopy.

Research groups with own experience in ultrafast spectroscopy or high field lasers physics who operate their own short pulse laser systems may also profit from the MBI application labs: they may access here ultrashort/ultraintensive light pulses at the technological limits or use special measuring techniques provided by the MBI.

Details can be found in the project description accessible via the project list.

The supply of the application laboratories spans fs light sources in a broad range of wavelengths and pulse energies. The measuring techniques required for pulse characterization and control are also provided (pulse energy, temporal and spatial extension, wavelength, band width, chirp etc.). Usually typical setups for pump-probe experiments are available.

Moreover for cooperation projects a standard experimental equipment can be supplied which is continuosly expanded. Optics, measuring techniques and apparatus being specific for the experiment and exceeding the standard are provided by agreement either by the application laboratory, the MBI-group or the external user for joined research projects. Scheduling the measuring time occurs by unformal arrangement. Interested users can apply for funding in the framework of the EU Access to Research Infrastructures program (Laserlab-Europe).

/de/services/concept/index.html
Applikationslabore
Konzept

Zur Zeit stehen insbesondere zur Verfügung:

Im Femtosekunden-Applikationslabor werden ultrakurze Lichtimpulse im Spektralbereich von 100 nm bis 20 µm mit insgesamt sieben festkörperbasierten Lasersystemen und Einrichtungen zur Impulsformung und -diagnose verfügbar gemacht.
Das Höchstfeldlaserlabor bietet zwei Höchstfeldlaser mit Spitzenintensitäten bis zu über 1019 W/cm2.
An der MBI - BESSY Beamline am Berliner Elektronenspeicherring für Synchrotronstrahlung (einem Hochbrillanzsynchrotron der 3. Generation in Berlin-Adlershof) können kombinierte Experimente mit Laser- und Synchrotronstrahlung durchgeführt werden.

Im Rahmen der Applikationslabore konzentriert das MBI seine spezifischen experimentellen Ressourcen, um eine möglichst flexible, vielfältig nutzbare und kostengünstige Nutzung von aufwendigen, hoch entwickelten Laseranlagen durch interne und externe Nutzer sicher stellen zu können.

Das MBI wendet sich daher mit einem differenzierten Kooperations-Angebot in erster Linie an folgende Nutzergruppen:

Wissenschaftlern aus Universitäten und Forschungsinstituten, deren Arbeitsgebiet nicht oder noch nicht die Ultrakurzzeit-Spektroskopie ist oder eine intensive Nutzung entsprechender Lasersysteme impliziert, soll die Möglichkeit geboten werden, die am MBI verfügbaren Lasersysteme für spezielle Untersuchungen zu nutzen, die sich ad hoc aus ihrer Arbeit ergeben. Angesprochen sind hierbei insbesondere Chemiker, Biologen, Mediziner und Materialforscher (während Physiker wohl in zunehmendem Maße auf eigene Systeme in ihren Einrichtungen werden zurückgreifen können).

Für Forscher und Entwickler aus der Industrie wird dies in dem Maße weiter attraktiv werden, wie die Femtotechnologie mehr und mehr in der Praxis Eingang findet. Auch hierbei können in gemeinsamen Projekten, alternativ aber auch in speziellen Aufträgen, Fragestellungen bearbeitet werden, die bei der externen Gruppe selten oder nur gelegentlich auftreten, für die aber am MBI entsprechende Kompetenz verfügbar ist.

Die Applikationslabors bieten sich natürlich auch für exploratorische Vorstudien an, mit denen geklärt werden kann, ob sich für den externen Nutzer ggf. die Anschaffung eines eigenen Systems lohnt. Gleichzeitig bietet dies die Möglichkeit, sich in die Ultrakurzzeitspektroskopie einzuarbeiten.

Forschergruppen, die bereits Erfahrungen in der Ultrakurzzeit-Spektroskopie oder mit Höchstfeldlasern haben und ggf. auch eigene Kurzpulslasersysteme betreiben, können ultrakurze bzw. ultraintensive Lichtimpulse am jeweiligen technologischen Limit sowie spezielle Messtechniken zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Wegen des hohen Aufwands können diese Entwicklungen, bei denen das MBI teilweise eine weltweit führende Position innehat, nur an einem auf diese Aufgaben fokussierten größeren Institut realisiert, langfristig gepflegt und einem größeren Nutzerkreis zugänglich gemacht werden.

Einzelheiten finden sich in den Projektbeschreibungen, die über die Projektliste zugänglich sind.

Darüber hinaus kann für Kooperationsprojekte eine experimentelle Standardausrüstung zur Verfügung gestellt werden, die ständig erweitert wird. Über den Standard hinausgehende, experimentspezifische Optiken, Meßtechnik und Anlagen für gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte werden nach Vereinbarung entweder vom Applikationslabor, von der MBI-Gruppe oder dem externen Nutzer gestellt. Die Festlegung der Meßzeiten erfolgt in formloser Absprache. Für Nutzer aus dem europäischen Ausland kann eine Förderung im Rahmen des EU Programms "Access to Research Infrastructures (LASERLAB-EUROPE) beantragt werden."