/en/organization/divisions/I/index.html
Services and Infrastructure for Research
Joint responsibilty of the Board of Directors

General services and infrastructure for reasearch are organized by the board of directors in joint responsibiltiy. Specifically the following areas of service are provided (responisble members of staff are given in brackets):

  • Administration (K. Grundmann)
  • The administrative staff of the institute is responsible for specific budget tasks (puchase, accounting), manages external fundings and personnel services together with the joint administration of the Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V.

  • Library and Information (J. Rehse)
  • The small local library of the MBI provides access to specific scientific literature, specifically to scientific journals. Electronic access to scientific journals, data banks and other online services plays a central role and is organized jointly by the research institutes in Adlershof. The library of the MBI hence works in close collaboration with the Branch Library for Science of the Humboldt University at the Erwin Schrödinger Center in Berlin Adlershof as well a with the IGAFA.

  • IT (Th.-M.Kruel)
  • The IT staff is responsible for the operation, development and security of IT applications and the extended computer network of the MBI as well as for maintenance of operational software (application server, WWW, Network managment, file servers etc.). In addition, they offer support for PC's and workstations used in the MBI-intranet in cooperation with the IT-specialists in the research departments who are responsible for the respective hard- and software.

  • Maintenance (L. Lein)
  • The Maintenance group deals with operation and servicing of central technical devices, including installations for the scientific experiments as well as general operational infrastructure tasks (driving service, merchandise acceptance and caretaker service).

  • Construction and Mechanical Workshop (N. N.)
  • This group is responsible for manufacturing of devices and mechanical construction for scientific experimental operation. It also supports the construction of such equippment as well as technical drawings. The available computer-based equipment is also used for creation of scientific presentations (e.g. posters for scientific conferences).

/de/organization/divisions/I/index.html
Dienstleistungen und Infrastruktur für die Forschung
In gemeinsamer Verantwortung des Direktoriums
Zahlreiche Dienstleistungen und Infrastruktur für die Forschung am MBI organisiert das Direktorium in gemeinsamer Verantwortung. Hierzu gehören insbesondere die nachfolgend beschriebenen Aufgabenfelder (in Klammern die derzeitigen Leiter der Gruppen):

  • Verwaltung (K. Grundmann)

    Die Mitarbeiter der Institutsverwaltung nehmen die institutsspezifischen Aufgaben der Haushaltsführung (Einkauf, Kontierung, Rechnungsprüfung), der Drittmittelverwaltung und des Personalwesens in Arbeitsteilung mit der Gemeinsamen Verwaltung des Forschungsverbundes wahr.

  • Bibliothek und Information (C. Reschke)

Das MBI besitzt eine kleine Präsenzbibliothek, in der die wichtigste Literatur, insbesondere an wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften vor Ort verfügbar gehalten wird. Der elektronische Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften, Datenbanken und sonstigen Onlinediensten spielt eine zentrale Rolle und wird von den Instituten in Adlershof überwiegend gemeinsam organisiert. Die Bibliothek des MBI arbeitet dabei eng zusammen mit der Zweigbibliothek Naturwissenschaften der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU) im Erwin Schrödinger-Zentrum (ESZ) in Adlershof und mit der IGAFA.

  • EDV (Th.-M.Kruel)

    Die EDV ist für den laufenden Betrieb, die Weiterentwicklung und die Sicherheit der EDV-Anwendungen und des umfassenden gemeinsamen EDV-Netzes, sowie für die Pflege der Betriebshard- und software verantwortlich (Applikationsserver, WWW, Netzwerkmanagement, Fileserver, etc.). Daneben werden Hilfen für die im Institutsnetz eingesetzten PCs, deren Peripherie sowie für Workstations angeboten. Die EDV Gruppe unterstützt dabei die dezentralen, in den verschiedenen Abteilungen zuständigen Abteilungsadministratoren bei der Pflege von Hard- und Software.

  • Betriebstechnik (L. Lein)

Die Aufgaben der Betriebstechnik umfassen Betrieb und Wartung der zentralen betriebstechnischen Anlagen, die Haustechnik einschließlich Installationsmaßnahmen für die wissenschaftlichen Experimente und die allgemeine betriebliche Infrastruktur (Fahrdienst, Warenannahme und Hausmeisterdienste).

  • Konstruktion und Mechanische Werkstatt (A. Katz)

    Die Gruppe deckt, neben den originären Aufgaben der Herstellung von Apparaturen und mechanischen Aufbauten für den wissenschaftlichen Experimentalbetrieb, zusätzlich die konstruktive Seite des Entwurfes wissenschaftlicher Anlagen und Geräte mit ab. Die vorhandene EDV-Ausstattung wird daneben auch für die Erstellung von Präsentationen (z. B. Poster bei wissenschaftlichen Tagungen) eingesetzt.